On Saturday, June 11, the inhabitants of Crusnes will discover the new owner of their church, namely the Patrice Besse real estate group. This building has mobilized a lot of energy from a Crusnoise association « Les Amis de Sainte-Barbe », with Georgette Lecomte at its head. She is nicknamed the Iron Lady, because of her stubbornness to raise funds for the benefit of the restoration of Sainte-Barbe.
A presentation Saturday, June 11th
This church remains an unfailing witness of the mining past of Crusnes, but also of the joys, the happiness and the tears of these inhabitants. This monument abandoned by « his Church », because it was deconsecrated and then sold to a private individual who did not perform miracles there, far from it, finally sees a light at the end of the tunnel, an unexpected chance to rise from its ashes and this, thanks to this unexpected takeover by the Patrice Besse group.
« Industrial, working-class memory, the church, now deconsecrated for ten years, must remain accessible to all ». It is in this spirit that the Patrice Besse group will act to animate the place. A presentation of the church to the population will be made on June 11 between 10h and 17h, 3rd avenue in Crusnes. The whole population is invited to the event.
For the story: « The church of Sainte-Barbe, patron saint of miners, was commissioned by the family of Wendel, owner of the Iron Mining Company of Crusnes. It was built in 10 months between 1938 and 1939. »